clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SB Nation 2010 NL Cy Young Award Goes To...The BBWAA 2010 NL Cy Young Award Winner Roy Halladay.

This right-hander was (3-0) in 3 starts against the Washington Nationals this year, posting a 0.39 ERA in 23.0 innings of work in which he allowed just 16 hits, 5 walks and 1 ER while recording 20 K's. In an 8-0 complete game shutout of the Nats in late September he dominated Washington batters, facing just one over the minimum as the Phillies clinched the NL East crown in front of a decidedly pro Philly crowd in the nation's capital. It wasn't just the Nationals he dominated, however, as 33-year-old Harold Leroy "Roy" Halladay dominated the National League on his first trip through the NL after 12 seasons in the American League with Toronto during which he claimed just one Cy Young Award. In the voting by the members of the SB Nation's baseball blogs, Halladay was the unanimous winner, the only pitcher to receive 1st place votes following his (21-10) 2010 campaign which saw Halladay post a 2.44 ERA and a 2.01 FIP, with 9 complete games and 4 shutouts over 33 starts and 250.2 IP in which he averaged 7.86 K/9 while walking just 1.08 BB/9. 

Just moments ago, the Baseball Writers' Association of America confirmed what the SB Nation's baseball writers predicted, awarding Phillies' starter Roy Halladay with his second Cy Young Award. As the post on the BWAA's award notes, Halladay is now part of an elite group of pitchers who were able to win a Cy Young award in both the AL and NL, "Halladay joined the company of Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez and Gaylord Perry as Cy Young Award winners in both leagues.

• The results of the SB Nation's Baseball Writers voting after the JUMP...

• Voting for the SB NATION Cy Young Award:

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Points
Roy Halladay 33 231
Adam Wainwright 16 5 10 2 101
Ubaldo Jimenez 8 16 5 1 91
Josh Johnson 7 9 9 5 78
Tim Lincecum 2 2 4 8 30
Tim Hudson 2 5 9
Mat Latos 1 2 1 8
Roy Oswalt 1 4 6
Clayton Kershaw 3 3
Cole Hamels 2 2
Carlos Marmol 1 1
Jaime Garcia 1 1