clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nationals Announce 18 Non-Roster Invitees To Spring Training: A.J. Cole And Brian Goodwin Get Invites

The Washington Nationals announced the names of 18 Non-Roster invitees this afternoon, releasing a list that is a mix of prospects and veterans who will join the usual suspects in Viera, Florida when Spring Training starts. New Nats' skipper Matt Williams wants to get a good look at the organization's talent.


The Washington Nationals announced the names of 18 Non-Roster invitees to Spring Training this afternoon, including prospects A.J. Cole, Blake Treinen, Matt Skole and Brian Goodwin. Veterans Jamey Carroll, Mike Fontenot, Chris Snyder and Will Rhymes will be in Viera, Florida soon too. New Nats' skipper Matt Williams told reporters at the Winter Meetings in December that he expected to have around 60 players at Spring Training this season to allow him to get a chance to see players he's not too familiar with in person.

"You can look at stats and say this guy hit 25 homers, but I want to know the intricacies of the player," Williams explained. "I want to know what his instincts are. We're going to have a little heavier camp than the organizations have in the last couple of years. So we'll have 60‑plus players. It's a function of me wanting to see them, certainly."

• Here are the names of the 18 Non-Roster invitees:

RHP Gabriel Alfaro

IF Jamey Carroll

RHP Manny Delcarmen

IF Mike Fontenot

RHP Clay Hensley

RHP Daniel Stange

IF Brock Peterson

C Chris Snyder

RHP A.J. Cole

LHP Tyler Robertson

LHP Danny Rosenbaum

RHP Blake Treinen

RHP Chris Young

C Brian Jeroloman

IF Josh Johnson

IF Will Rhymes

IF Matt Skole

OF Brian Goodwin

As the Nationals post on the invitees notes, it will be the first Major League Spring Training for both Cole and Goodwin. Alfaro was signed out of the Mexican League. Veteran infielder Jamey Carroll returns to the Nationals after playing in D.C. in the Nats' inaugural season in 2005.

Check out the Nationals' write-up on the 18 Non-Roster Invitees below: