clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nationals' slugger Bryce Harper named 2015 NL Hank Aaron Award winner

Washington Nationals' slugger Bryce Harper was named the 2015 National League Hank Aaron Award winner tonight. The award has been given to the top offensive performer in each league since 1999. Next up, NL MVP?

Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

Washington Nationals' right fielder Bryce Harper, 23, was nominated for a Gold Glove award, one of three finalists in right field from the National League and he's expected to take home some more hardware later this Fall when the NL MVP for 2015 is announced. This evening, he was named the NL's Hank Aaron Award winner.

The Hank Aaron Award is given annually (since 1999) to the top hitter in each league as voted on by baseball fans and a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron which includes Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Eddie Murray, Frank Thomas and Robin Yount.

Harper, the Nationals' 2010 no.1 overall pick, took his game to another level in 2015, posting a .330/.460/.649 line with 38 doubles, 42 home runs, 118 runs scored and 99 driven in in 153 games and 654 plate appearances, over which he was worth an MLB-leading 9.5 fWAR.

"I congratulate Bryce Harper and Josh Donaldson on earning the 2015 Hank Aaron Awards, representing the best offensive seasons in the American and National Leagues," MLB Commissioner Robert D. Manfred, Jr. said in a press release announcing the AL and NL winners tonight.

"At age 22, Bryce enjoyed great success, posting numbers that put him in the company of some of our game's all-time greats. Josh played a pivotal role in the Blue Jays' first playoff season in 22 years, contributing to one of the game's best lineups.

"Both players honored the enduring legacy of Hank Aaron with all-around excellence throughout the 2015 season."

"It is truly a joy and an honor that the award recognizing the top offensive performers in the game has my name on it," Hank Aaron added in the press release.

"I want to congratulate Josh and Bryce on their outstanding seasons and extend my thanks to the Hall of Famers and fans who selected the winners."

The winners of the Gold Gloves at each position will be announced on November 10th and after that we'll see if Harper gets the NL MVP nod he earned with his work this season.