clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Washington Nationals Spring Training 2017: Nats reassign 10 in latest roster cuts

The Washington Nationals announced the latest round of roster cuts this morning, reassigning ten players within the organization.

MLB: Spring Training-Washington Nationals at St. Louis Cardinals Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

The Washington Nationals announced their latest round of rosters cuts this morning, reassigning ten players.

Right-handed pitchers Jimmy Cordero and Austin Voth and first baseman Matt Skole were reassigned to Triple-A Syracuse.

Catcher Raudy Read was assigned to Double-A Harrisburg after playing at High-A Potomac in 2016.

In addition, right-handers Dustin Antolin and Taylor Hill, infielders Corban Joseph and Drew Ward and outfielder Andrew Stevenson were reassigned to Minor League camp.

The Nationals also announced that left-hander Nick Lee underwent surgery to repair a stress fracture in his left elbow, and was reassigned to Minor League camp to continue his rehab.

This morning’s moves come three days after the Nationals’ first round of cuts, which saw pitchers Michael Broadway, Tim Collins, Derek Eitel, Kyle McGowin and Wander Suero reassigned to minor league camp.

Dusty Baker explained after those initial roster moves, that it was more about getting the players the necessary reps they need this Spring when they were no longer going to be available in big league camp.

“We were getting to a point where guys are either backing up, especially the pitchers, or getting one inning, and you got to stretch them out at some point of time,” Baker explained, as quoted by MASN’s Pete Kerzel last week.

“Minor league games don’t start until the 16th and I’m going to send a couple of guys over today that I think either need at-bats or need to get their stroke together.”

The moves also allow for those players considered legitimate candidates for spots on the Opening Day rosters to get as much work as possible as they battle for jobs with the major league club.

The announcements this morning were made via Twitter: