clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

“Blue Eye” “Feddeccini” and “Mondo”: What Washington Nationals players will wear on Players’ Weekend

The 2018 edition of MLB’s Players’ Weekend is coming up, August 24-26, and that means we get to see what nicknames everyone picked this time around...

New York Mets v Washington Nationals Photo by Patrick McDermott/Getty Images

The Nationals will partake in MLB’s second annual Players’ Weekend in their games against the Mets from August 24-26.

Over the series, the players will wear uniforms with bright colors and nicknames on the back, cleats of their choosing (which most players kind of do anyways), and can give shoutouts to charitable causes or those who helped them along the way through their pregame and in-game attire.

This year, the Nationals will wear red jerseys with blue sleeves (as opposed to last year’s blue jerseys with red sleeves) and a script Nationals on the front, while the hat is a red cap with a blue brim.

This year, the Nationals switched up their nicknames — Harper was “Big Kid,” while Sean Doolittle was “DOOOOOOOOOO.” This year, Harper is “Mondo” while Doolittle is “Doc.”

Aside from Jeremy Hellickson’s “Helly” (if he wanted to be hip, he could have gone with ‘Hella’ or ‘Heely,’ as in the shoes with wheels) and Max Scherzer’s “Blue Eye,” the clear standout for the Nationals is Erick Fedde’s “Feddeccini.” (Joe Ross—a.k.a. “JR”—probably wins for the most boring nickname.)

Here’s a full list of the Nationals’ names from

Matt Adams: “BIG CITY”
Joaquin Benoit: “JACK”
Wilmer Difo: “EL DE”
Sean Doolittle: “DOC”
Adam Eaton: “SPANKY”
Erick Fedde: “FEDDECCINI”
Koda Glover: “BEAR”
Gio Gonzalez: “DOUBLE G”
Matt Grace: “GRACEY”
Bryce Harper: “MONDO”
Jeremy Hellickson: “HELLY”
Kelvin Herrera: “K 40”
Greg Holland: “HOLLY”
Howie Kendrick: “TRUCK”
Spencer Kieboom: “BOOMER”
Ryan Madson: “BLEST”
Justin Miller: “J. MILLZ”
Tommy Milone: “TOMASO”
Daniel Murphy: “MURPH”
Anthony Rendon: “ANT”
Mark Reynolds: “SHERIFF”
Tanner Roark: “T-RO”
Joe Ross: “JR”
Max Scherzer: “BLUE EYE”
Jhonatan Solano: “TATAN”
Sammy Solis: “BIG ANGUS”
Juan Soto: “JUANJO”
Wander Suero: “THE ANIMAL”
Stephen Strasburg: “STRAS”
Michael A. Taylor: “MIGGY”
Trea Turner: “TRIPLE TREA”
Matt Wieters: “MAUI”
Ryan Zimmerman: “ZIM”